Hi everyone! I decided to take a little hiatus from blogging over the weekend and make the most of the last few days I had of freedom (i.e. I have to go to my internship this week!) I was feeling pretty relaxed, but deep down dreading waking up this morning and having to go somewhere. Last week was just so nice!

I had a wonderful weekend with Evan, as we chose to stay in Gainesville for the Easter weekend. There was way too much driving going on last month and I, for one, was not ready to pack up and hit the road again quite yet. We had fun discussing food and nutrition topics all weekend as well as creating a new, messy Veganomicon masterpiece, which you will see very shortly šŸ™‚

I also enjoyed an amazing Hatha yoga class on Saturday morning that got the heart pounding and the sweat flowing! I am definitely sore today as this class is notorious for being much more intense than a normal Hatha class. It was such a balanced practice as we spent extended amounts of time in meditation at the beginning and in Shavasana (Corpse Pose) at the end. Our meditation at the beginning was led by the 7 chakras, where we spent 1 minute in each for a total of 7 minutes. In Shavasana we brought attention and awareness to every inch of our bodies. I was loving how I felt after this class! šŸ™‚

Now, a little vent…

Last night I attended a Yoga Works class which is “a blending of the three strands of the Krishnamacharya lineage – Ashtanga, Iyengar and the teachings of Desikachar coupled with the unique approach to sequencing that is specifically designed to meet the needs of the average yoga student.” This class brought out a lot of stress, frustration and overall emotion going through me at this time with graduation and all of the changes that are coming up really fast. On the surface, the fact that my hamstrings are so tight and keep me from fully enjoying certain poses was making me feel really defeated. Deeper down during these poses, I was holding back the tears that were welling up from all of the emotions that were surfacing. I considered leaving the class multiple times (the instructor’s teaching style wasn’t my favorite either), but I stuck it out and finished up in Shavasana against the wall. I thought I might feel like I’d overcome something huge when I finished the class, but I was still weighed down by everything and the overall experience of the class. These feelings continued through the night and later, I had a mini freak out with myself about everything that has to be done in the next 3 weeks. I need to constantly remind myself to breathe, slow down, and take all of it one thing at a time.

Okay, moving on…Thanks for reading that, if you did!

Vegan Challenge Update (Days 10, 11, 12, 13)

I had a really successful weekend of vegan eating. Today wasn’t so great in terms of getting in fruits and veggies, but it was still vegan. I was definitely an emotional eater today and I’m hoping I’ll feel more up for some healthier things tomorrow. Gotta go with the flow right?

Friday

DSC_5023.JPG DSC_5025.JPG DSC_5027.JPG DSC_5041.JPG DSC_5043.JPG DSC_5044.JPG DSC_5047.JPG DSC_5055.JPG DSC_5058.JPG

I LOVED the Coconut Milk yogurt. It’s delicious, soy free and dairy free! A little thinner than my favorite Greek yogurts, but still delicious!! And what’s that messiness on that slice of bread?? Oh, just Veganomicon’s Snobby Joes!! Evan and I absolutely LOVED these and ate the leftovers for Saturday night’s dinner too! They were so so easy to make and I highly recommend them for a fun, messy meal šŸ˜€ Oh and last thing, I at 1 1/2 of those leftover oatmeal raisin cookies with that bowl of coconut milk ice cream.


Saturday

DSC_5059.JPG DSC_5072.JPG DSC_5081.JPG DSC_5082.JPG

Not as interesting in pictures because breakfast was nonexistent with my morning yoga class and there were a lot of leftovers to be enjoyed šŸ™‚ I’m currently reading Vegan Freak (pictured above) and I really love it. It’s subtitled “Being Vegan in a Non-Vegan World”. There are a lot of wonderful survival tips that I’m fully appreciating šŸ™‚


Sunday

DSC_5083.JPG DSC_5087.JPG DSC_5093.JPG DSC_5100.JPG DSC_5104.JPG

Those pancakes are Hodgeson Mill Buckwheat mix made with rice milk and a flax seed substitute for the egg (1 T ground flax combined with 3 T water has an egg-like effect on recipes). These pancakes were definitely fluffier with the flax substitute than they were on Friday morning without it. Yum, yum! The sandwich is the Smokey Grilled Tempeh recipe from Veganomicon. It was really easy to make but I didn’t love it. It was pretty bland, actually, and I wound up throwing some Annie’s BBQ sauce on top for more flavor.


Today (Monday)


DSC_5109.JPGDSC_3036.JPG IMG00043 IMG00044 DSC_5112.JPG

See what I meant by the non-veggie/fruit day I had? Yikes! Does the POM count? šŸ˜› I need to hide ginger snaps when I buy them because I literally cannot stop eating them…they’re addictive! I really was craving comfort food and ALL of these met that requirement. A green smoothie (or 2 or 3) will definitely be in order tomorrow.

Okay, that’s it for now! I have a full day tomorrow and will hopefully get out of class early enough to make another yoga class.

Goodnight everyone and have a fabulous Tuesday!

Announcement:

logo

Ashley from Heatlhy Ashley sent me this information about a kayak race that’s happening in Tampa soon! It’s a 5 mile and 2 mile kayak race benefiting Multiple Myeloma.

The Multiple Myeloma Research Foundation is on the forefront of funding and developing new treatments for Multiple Myeloma, bringing hope to those with this terrible disease. All proceeds from the event will benefit the MMRF.

You can learn more and register here!

