It’s Wednesday! Ah, I am LOVING this week off! If you caught my Twitter status earlier today (can be seen in the sidebar of my home page), you saw that I voluntarily woke up at 6:30 AM and thoroughly enjoyed my morning at a slow, easy pace while watching The Today Show, cleaning the kitchen, taking out the trash, catching up on blogs, eating my breakfast, sipping my tea, and getting ready for yoga. Sweet life, and I can’t wait to continue it after April 17th when my internship is completely finished πŸ™‚

My yin and flow yoga class this morning was really wonderful. I think it’s the best class I’ve taken (ever) and I really enjoyed the dynamic poses we explored by holding them longer in the beginning and doing lots of flow toward the end. We have did handstands with the support of the wall! I loved it πŸ™‚

In light of the Vegan Challenge, I thought this article from Kris Carr’s Crazy Sexy Life blog might be of interest to you. It’s called Shedding Some Light on Dairy by Lilli Link, MD. If you get a chance to read it, let me know what you think! It answered a lot of my calcium questions!

I also found a wonderful PDF on her website that gives an awesome overview of vegetarian/veganism, the common myths, and the nutritional facts that support this kind of diet. If you have such questions as “Where do you get your protein?” or “Don’t you need milk to keep your bones strong and healthy?” this is a great article to read. It’s also a good starting out guide for any of you who are wondering how you could make a vegetarian/vegan diet work for you. If none of these reasons-to-read apply to you, it’s great to just be an informed person about this kind of lifestyle (I wasn’t until a couple of months ago), so that if you meet someone or know someone choosing to live this way, you can understand why. Download the PDF here: Veggie Vixen or go to the website to download it. As always, let me know what you think!

Vegan Challenge Day 8

Breakfast: Oatmeal with cinnamon, raisins, unsweetened coconut and Barney Butter. Oatmeal was made with vanilla rice milk.

Perfect, perfect, perfect! I loved these oats for the second day in a row (with cinnamon added this time around!)

DSC_5009.JPG


Lunch: Amy’s Teriyaki Bowls and an organic Braeburn apple.

I really loved and appreciated this bowl of yumminess. It had lots of veggies to offer and did not sacrifice on taste whatsoever. Amazing, definitely try it!

IMG00029

IMG00031

IMG00030

Mid-Afternoon Snack: AB & J (Maple Cinnamon almond butter and raspberry preserves) on Sesame Ezekial

I was hungry when I got home from work around 5:30 but was not ready for dinner. I saw a PB & J on a Noggin (kid’s channel) commercial and was craving it!

DSC_5013.JPG

Dinner: a sweet potato topped with homemade V’con hummus, leftover black bean burger, spicy banana peppers.

I needed simple because I had a sub-committee conference call for planning the huge conference I volunteer for in DC every summer. I ate this while I was on the call listening in on all of the new exciting plans for HOBY and WLC! This was a different spin on my usual sweet potato and it was hot-n-SPICY! Very yummy and I loved adding the hummus to the mix.

DSC_5016.JPG

Okay, to bed I go! I have a fun morning run with my friend Liz at 9 AM and then we’re taking the Gentle Yoga class at 10:30 AM! Then I have a phone call discussing some future freelance work I’m doing, followed by some homework to do before my 5 PM class. Packed day, but I can’t wait!

Have a good one πŸ˜€

