Hi! I hope everyone had a fabulous Monday…I know I did! I’d almost forgotten what life was like without a schedule constantly holding me back from things I want to do (more on that later)! Ah, the freedom continues πŸ™‚

Vegan Challenge Day 6

Today I woke up at 8 AM; early enough to enjoy my time off from my internship, but late enough to get a decent night of sleep for once. I had a couple of hours to enjoy before heading off to work for a bit, so I ate a yummy fruit breakfast that was reminiscent of Sharon @ Snippets and Bites’ famous and marvelously organized fruit bowls. It had pineapple, oranges and bananas. No picture, but it was great, light, and the perfect way to start the day. Then I got ready at my leisure (did I mention how great this is yet?!) and headed out to work with this lunch in tote (stock photo):

Lunch: an Amy’s Tamale Verde on a bed of organic baby spinach…mmm mmm good! I LOVE the corn masa!

DSC_4540.JPG


Mid-Afternoon Snack: the Cocoa Mole Larabar that Lora sent me in this package last week. Spicy AND sweet!

DSC_4732.JPG


Pre-dinner, recipe testing: Veganomicon Hummus

First of all, I’ve never made my own hummus before. Second of all, I have no idea why not because it is so unbelievably easy to do! This recipe made at least 4 cups of hummus and cost me about $4 to make. I know I’ve paid $3.99 for 10 oz. of Sabra Hummus in the past! And what’s better about my homemade version? Most of it is organic! Between the homemade almond butter and this hummus, I’m pretty much in love with my food processor πŸ˜€

DSC_4957.JPG


Dinner: Grilled Flat Out wrap with leftover Black Bean Burger, organic baby spinach, and homemade V’Con Hummus, with a side of sliced organic cucumber and organic celery dipped in more homemade hummus (of course!)

DSC_4965.JPG

DSC_4966.JPG

Dessert: an experimental serving of Coconut Bliss Chocolate Hazelnut Fudge non-dairy frozen dessert

I could barely contain myself. ICE CREAM! SOY-FREE, DAIRY FREE ICE CREAM! Who knew?! I’m not kidding, if you had blind-folded me and told me this was real ice cream, I would have believed you. It tasted right out of a pint of Haagen Dazs chocolate ice cream. I almost went back for seconds, but contained myself. I’ll be dreaming of this tonight (and all of the other flavors I can’t wait to try!). PS…More coconut experimentation tomorrow with another product I cannot wait to try!

DSC_4971.JPG

DSC_4973.JPG

Eating vegan is FUN! I love everything I’m discovering and all of the new things I’m trying. Pure bliss πŸ™‚

In other news…

When I got home from work today I had two goodies waiting for me in the mail. The first were my winnings of 4 free POM Wonderful Coupons from Angela at Oh She Glows. Thanks Angela! I decided to wait until I finish these to write my review. My POM sampler arrived with the drinks at room temperature and I want to see if they taste different cold and fresh from Publix.

DSC_4948.JPG

The other package were my free Barney Butter samples I ordered last week! I’ve never had Barney Butter before so I’m really excited to try these!

DSC_4952.JPG


Things I’ve Wanted To Do, But Haven’t Had Time To Do…

Lastly, I wanted to discuss my upcoming fitness plans. You may or may not have noticed that I’ve taken a bit of a hiatus from exercise since my 10K run was cancelled. I haven’t been feeling very motivated, because of everything else going on in my life, but I’m hopping back on that bandwagon this week. I’ve agreed to run a 5K with Evan’s roommate, Mark, on April 19th, so I need to get moving pronto!

In addition to this, I was browsing my favorite yoga studio’s website this afternoon and discovered that, with my newly freed schedule, I can make one class every day of this week! Normally, this would be quite costly at $14 a class, but lucky for me, I was able to get 2 weeks unlimited classes for $24 as a “new” student! I can probably only get to 2 classes next week, but I’m going to declare this awesome freedom week I have now as my yoga week. I can’t wait to try out all of the classes and see how doing yoga every day for one week makes me feel.

Tonight’s class was an hour and a half Hatha yoga class. We did a lot of twisting, which was perfect because my lower back has been stiff and achey all weekend. I left feeling very relaxed, stretched, and a little sore. Tomorrow I will be doing Gentle Yoga at 10:30 AM. I’ll probably head out for a run prior to the class to remind my legs what running feels like again!

I’m off to bed! I hope you enjoyed all of my little updates πŸ™‚

Goodnight!

