Ever wondered what it would be like to try a different eating lifestyle? How would you eat differently? How would you feel after a few weeks of it? What vegetarian or vegan options are out there that will keep you satisfied after a meal? I’ve wondered these same things and have actually been wanting to try vegetarianism for a long time. However, when I sat down and thought about my diet as it is now, I realized that I already don’t cook very much meat for myself and really don’t feel the need to either. After reading Skinny Bitch and it being recommended to me by Sarah from Sarah is Healthy to try 30 days of veganism, I felt like a challenge might be a fun way to explore veganism. Unlike vegetarianism, veganism will be a challenge for me because I love things like cheese, yogurt, ice cream, and eggs. I think I would learn a lot about how to feed my body this way and see if it’s for me or not. Ultimately, I’m looking for a learning experience, not necessarily a complete lifestyle change. There’s no better way to learn about something than to experience it for yourself, right?

veganchallenge2

So after much contemplation about what the best time for me to do this would be, I figured, no time like the present! Then I thought about all of you and how it’s way easier to learn more as a group than on your own. That’s when it hit me: a Chase Daylight Vegan Challenge! There’s nothing I’d like more than to share this experience with anyone who is interested and get some much needed support along the way! So here’s the deal:

  • This Wednesday, April 1st, will mark the official start of the Chase Daylight Vegan Challenge. It will last 30 days.
  • I will primarily be avoiding all meat, dairy and eggs.
  • I will keep soy products to moderate (not over-processed) amounts in order to focus on my intake of fruits, vegetables, whole grains and beans.
  • Vegan baked desserts will be experimented with on the weekends in order to keep “unhealthy” vegan items in check.
  • I will document my food choices, challenges, triumphs, and thoughts about what I’ve learned every day of the challenge on the Vegan Challenge page that can be found by clicking the logo on my blog homepage.

Challenge Rules

  • The Chase Daylight Vegan Challenge starts April 1, 2009 and will run through April 30, 2009.
  • ANYONE can participate, including current vegans. If you’re already vegan, set a new challenge for yourself and let me know what it is. I’d love to have current vegans in the contest because you know way more about this than I do and I’d love to learn from you!
  • You should eliminate meat products, dairy products and eggs from your diet as best you can. No one is perfect and I certainly don’t expect you OR I to be.
  • You should do as much research as possible on veganism and properly fueling your body while participating in this challenge. The goal is to be successful and learn about a new lifestyle!
  • You may join the challenge at any time. You will receive one entry for every day you participate. That’s 30 total possible entries just for participating! I’m doing this to give anyone who may be hesitant to do a full-month a chance to try this out for as long as they want without any pressure.
  • You will receive additional entries each time you link to the Vegan Challenge Page from your blog and email me at chasedaylight.blog@gmail.com saying you did so. No blog? No problem. Email me with a comment or suggestion about my post from that day.
  • I will be updating you on my progress every day, but I’d love to hear from you at least once a week. On Fridays, post about your own food choices, challenges, triumphs, and thoughts about what you’ve learned. If you don’t have a blog, you can email me with your progress. I’d love to read them and discuss them on my blog!
  • Very important: please email me at chasedaylight.blog@gmail.com in order to enter or exit this challenge at any point during the 30 days!

On May 1, 2009 I will choose the winner of an awesome Vegan Challenge prize pack. The final prize will be a surprise, but as a sneak peak, it will definitely include:

  • a vegan cookbook
  • vegan bars
  • nut butter

Sound good?! Who is with me??? I’m so excited to give this a shot and rise to an awesome challenge! Don’t forget to email me if you want to participate or have any questions. See you April 1st!

