Hey everyone! Welcome to Pre-Cruise Day 2!

Catching up?

I’m so excited because we leave for Miami tomorrow morning and will be sailing by 4 PM!!! I don’t have much to add to that so I’ll leave you to the first guest post of the week by Danielle. Danielle is a Chase Daylight reader who wanted to get a taste for blogging by submitting a guest post…I hope she’ll create her own blog after this and I’m sure you’ll agree! Show her some love fellow bloggies 🙂

When I read that Ryan was looking for guest bloggers to post while she was on vacation, I saw it as the perfect opportunity to try out food blogging. I originally came across Kath’s blog spring semester last year when I made the decision to start eating healthier and get a little more creative with my food. Less pre-made, more natural.. From there, I found several other blogs that I love and make my morning coffee/ blog catch up something to look forward to 🙂

So, on to breakfast… I bought this can of butternut squash right after thanksgiving when it was on sale at Whole Foods. Thought it would be fun to use this in some of my recipes that I’d ordinarily add canned pumpkin with. Totally forgot about it until yesterday afternoon when I was reorganizing my food shelf. Thought it would be a good time to use it..

The nutritionals are pretty similar to canned pumpkin

The squash was the star of my Taste of Thanksgiving Yum-oats

In addition to the 1/2 cup squash I added:

  • 1/3 cup old fashioned oats
  • pinch salt

After cooked on the stove I added:

  • sprinkle cinnamon
  • tsp flax
  • tsp dried cranberries
  • about a TB trader joe’s fiber worms
  • drizzle natural maple syrup

img_0392

img_0396

On the side was a cup of Archer Farms Cinnamon Vanilla Nut coffee with a splash of unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze.

Squash vs. Pumpkin: Overall it really wasn’t that different. The consistency was the same (it started to congeal in the pot when it was ready). The taste was great. Kinda a cross between pumpkin and… I can’t quite put my finger on it! Your thoughts?

This was my first and definitely not last time I will use canned squash. Going to try to get some other recipe ideas before I use up the rest of the can. Has anyone else tried cooking/baking with canned squash? If so, what’d they make and how did it turn out?

Hope everyone enjoyed my adventurous breakfast. I’m off to a long day of class, wish me luck!

-Danielle

