Another afternoon post! Go me 😀

With all of the talk about outdoor fitness safety going around the blogosphere this week (Caitlin’s Road ID giveaway and Meghann’s dog chasing incident), I decided to share with you some of the precautions I’ve taken to keep myself safe while running outdoors.

  • First, I never run in the dark. It scares me half to death (I’m a bit of a worrier) to think of someone lurking behind trees or watching me run. Part of me wishes I could get over this because it’d be much more convenient for me to run early in the morning or at night, but I just can’t compromise on it. Do you run in the dark? What precautions do you take to stay safe early morning or late night?
  • Second, I keep my iPod music low so I can hear cars if I’m running along a busy road. There was a law student here at UF who ran across a busy road with her headphones on and didn’t realize cars were coming. She got hit at 45 mph and died. That’s so scary to me, so in an effort to be aware of my surroundings, I keep the music low. How do you listen to your music?
  • Third, I recently purchased a Road ID shoe pouch to keep my identification and insurance information in. Do you own a Road ID product or something similar? Has it come in handy once or twice?
  • Fourth, I’m constantly looking around at my surroundings and am suspicious of everything! I’d rather be the suspecting, worry wart now so I don’t have to pay for it later! Are you like me or is “tunnel vision” running more your style? It’s so easy to “zone out” while running/walking/biking!
  • Fifth, and most importantly, I always have pepper spray with me. And not just any pepper spray. Mine is strapped to my hand at all times and is always accessible if I need to use it. Luckily, this hasn’t been the case yet, but it makes me feel secure knowing that I won’t have to dig around for it if an incident ever did arise. It’s lightweight, straps on and off easily, and is perfect for any outdoor activity! Check it out…I highly recommend this product for runners and all outdoor enthusiasts alike.

DSC_3864.JPG

DSC_3865.JPG

DSC_3866.JPG

DSC_3869.JPG

I contacted Brian from Ladies Only Sports and he’s graciously agreed to give away one each of these Jogger’s Pepper Spray products to two Chasing Daylight readers!!! That’s right, two of you will be the lucky winners of one of these awesome products! I’m so excited that you, too, will have the chance to stay safe during all of your outdoor activities!

Giveaway Details

There are two ways to enter (U.S. Residents Only):

  • Leave a comment on this post telling me your outdoor safety habits and/or why you’d like to win this product.
  • If you have a blog, link back to this post on your blog.

The contest will end Sunday, February 22, 2009 at 11:59 PM EST. I will randomly choose the winner and announce the winner on Monday.

Ready…Set…GO!

Stay safe bloggies!

