This afternoon I met up with Courtney from The Hungry Yogini for a lunch at Book Lover’s Cafe.  

DSC_3781.JPG

I thoroughly enjoyed meeting up with a fellow blogger/foodie who lives in Gainesville! It was great to have someone else taking pictures of our lunch and not look at me like I was really strange, haha 🙂

Everything at this cafe is vegetarian and I got to step out of my comfort zone a little bit and try the Chimichurri which is “Argentinian pesto with cilantro parsley, green onions, garlic, granny smith apple slices, and broiled melted jack cheese.” It also had two sliced tomatoes on top. I really loved it and would definitely get it again.

DSC_3778.JPG

On the side was a cup of their black bean and rice soup. This was a complex of flavors that were delicious all together! I really want to go back there again

DSC_3780.JPG

After lunch we went to Mother Earth Market which was right next door to Book Lover’s Cafe.

DSC_3783.JPG

First of all, I can’t believe that I’ve never been there before! I’ve always driven past it and thought, hm…I wonder how that place is, but never stopped to check it out. Thanks Courtney for showing me around! When we first walked in I mentioned how it looked like a place in Sarasota called The Granary. The Granary was the first health food store in Sarasota before Whole Foods opened a store. While we were checking out at the register, Courtney noticed The Granary on a list of locations! Apparently they’re owned by the same company, NRG. We also discovered that on Thursdays your entire purchase is 10% off! How cool is that?

We walked through all of the isles and looked at everything that Mother Earth had to offer. I picked up some very reasonably priced Pumpkin Butter that came highly recommended by Courtney. I also got some Ezekial Sesame bread, Hemp Bliss milk (been wanted to try it!), an Almond Bumble Bar, Pumpkin Granola, 88% Cacao Dark Chocolate (for Evan), and…

DSC_3797.JPG

a Synergy Guava Goddess Kombucha This is Courtney’s latest staple drink and I had to try it!

DSC_3785.JPG

It was all bubbly and effervescent upon opening…see the bubbly?

DSC_3788.JPG

I took a good whiff of it and got an overwhelming vinegar smell that I wasn’t expecting (though I was warned! haha). I took a deep breath and then took a little sip. It was definitely different at first, but I actually really liked the moderate amount of effervescence and the guava taste! I’ve been sipping on it for the last 2 hours and it’s still bubbly and yummy! I can’t wait to try some of the other flavors, particularly the grape!

Courtney is so sweet and I’m really glad I had the opportunity to meet her. I’ll see her again next weekend at the blogger lunch meet-up in Tampa after my Gasparilla 5K!!! Yay for new bloggie friends!

I love Wednesdays because I have my afternoons all free! I’m getting ready to head out to the farmers’ market downtown to pick up some more organic produce and then I’m off to the gym to try out my new shoes during a 3 mile treadmill run. I really cannot wait to see if my running feels different with the new shoes!

I’ll be back tonight with a breakfast and dinner recap, as well as the results of my run! I hope you enjoyed my afternoon post!

