I’m back! I feel slightly refreshed and able to tackle my blog again. We’ll see how this week goes, but I think it’s definitely going to be better than last week! I think everything I need to be doing just suddenly started caving in on me. That, combined with my less-than-great sleep hours last week, made for me not dealing with the extra stress well. Plus, I kept forgetting things and that made it even worse. I hate forgetting and overlooking my responsibilities!

Anyway, I’ll break to some HAPPY things now, then we’ll get to my (almost) disaster!

I had an amazing Valentine’s Day with my boyfriend, Evan! We started out the morning with an orientation at the Alachua County Humane Society. Evan wanted to go help out with the cats and dogs and invited me to join him, so hopefully we can start going on Saturdays! All of the dogs and cats are adorable, but it broke my heart to see them all locked up and unable to roam around like animals should! I wanted to take them all home with me!

After our orientation we were off to the Haile Plantation Farmer’s Market ! I LOVE FM’s and was very excited to revisit this one (the first time since I’ve had my blog!). I think I saw it with a whole different perspective and was willing to try some new things (dried persimmon and a slice of pomelo). I didn’t like the persimmon, but the pomelo was DELICIOUS! I think I’ll be buying one the next time I can! I loved the sweetness it had, combined with the grapefruit tang. Yum! I ended up buying some Organic Tuscan Kale for $2!!! (which made its appearance in our dinner) and Evan picked up a large bag of Organic Spinach for $3!! Such great deals!

DSC_3600.JPG

After the FM, we went to Publix to do some shopping for dinner. We went to a different Publix than usual and they have a HUGE Greenwise section. I found Organic Sweet Potatoes and literally almost cried (not kidding), I was so excited!! I switched to organic yams last week after Evan told me about all of the pesticides in regular potato skins. I couldn’t find organic SP‘s anywhere, so I substituted with some yams that I found. The yams are a comparable sub, but they aren’t as sweet. I’m still SO ecstatic about my awesome find!

We hung out for the rest of the afternoon and then I ran home to get some things done. When I returned to Evan’s house, we got ready to make some dinner! We avoided the restaurant scene because it is SO crazy on Valentine’s Day and we wanted to save some $$ for our cruise! On the menu: Spaghetti Squash Spaghetti, Kale Chips, Chicken Sausage, Garlic toast and Pinot Noir! Yum! Evan commented on how well we worked together in the kitchen and I definitely agreed! I thoroughly enjoyed spending time with him in the kitchen, as we both share a passion for healthy food!

DSC_3611.JPG

DSC_3619.JPG

DSC_3623.JPG

Dessert was 3 of my Peppermint Cheesecake Brownies topped with melted dark chocolate (Evan’s surprise addition!) Yummmm…. We also enjoyed four Lindt Truffles..mmm…

DSC_3652.JPG

Throughout the night I had 3 glasses of 2006 Redwood Creek Pinot Noir. Pretty good, but could have been sweeter for my tastes. Does anyone have any suggestions for sweet wines? I looove those πŸ™‚ Evan has a really cute bottle opener shown below with his beloved Newcastle that he enjoyed while we were cooking πŸ™‚

DSC_3607.JPG DSC_3597.JPG

Overall, I had a wonderful Valentine’s Day and cannot wait to spend tomorrow evening doing yoga with Evan to continue the Valentine’s celebration (that was my gift, if you don’t recall)! Yay!

DSC_3639.JPG DSC_3641.JPG

Now onto my (almost) disaster. I’ll preface it by saying that I successfully completed my 4.1 mile run today about 44 minutes! Shortly after that I had to go to my teaching partner’s house to write our lesson plan for Tuesday. As I was leaving, I noticed that the stairs to get down to my car from the second level were very dark. I guessed that the light was broken or something as I walked down them and totally missed the last step before the landing. I fell over and landed on the side of my twisted left foot. Ouch! If I hadn’t caught myself on the railing, my foot or ankle would be broken, for sure! Of course my first thought was, Crap, I need to be able to keep training for my 5K and 10K’s that are coming up, I hope I’m not seriously hurt! Is that terrible? Luckily, it’s not broken, but I’m icing it right now with some frozen corn, because it’s giving me a decent amount of pain. Whoops! I might take off my run on Tuesday if it’s still hurting by then. Minor setback, but could be way worse!

Speaking of foot/leg pain, I think my sneakers are starting to crap out on me as I start adding more mileage to my runs each week. Around mile 3 I start to notice a very small amount of pain in my left knee or hamstring. Some of it has been lingering in the past week too. I’ve never been fit for a pair of running shoes before, but I’m thinking it might be time soon. I really don’t want to injure myself. Since my current sneakers only have about 100 miles on them, I’ll definitely keep using them for my cross training. It’s something I need to keep thinking about, because it’s a lot of money to shell out before the cruise, but with the 5K being right before the cruise and the 10K coming up shortly after, I’m feeling the pressure. Decisions, decisions…any thoughts?

Alright, it’s time for bed! I have tomorrow morning off from my internship (thank GOODNESS), but I’ll be up pretty early to do an online midterm for my Forestry class. Whoopee! Thank you all for being so supportive and understanding during my absence the last couple of days. I definitely needed that break and you all were great about it!

Goodnight!

PS, Here are some pictures from the second batch of Peppermint Cheesecake Brownies I shipped off to Monica on Thursday for the Blogger Bake Sale.

DSC_3559.JPG

DSC_3570.JPG

DSC_3574.JPG

