I’m going to blame my lack of blogging motivation on my lack of graduate school application motivation. I’ve been royally stuck on my statement of purpose. I have a hard time doing other things when there’s something else that has to take precedent. I guess I feel like I don’t deserve to blog if I can’t even write my SoP. Ahhh. Well, good news is, I finished it this morning and have posted it on a new page called “SoP” for you all to read. I think it will give you more insight into who I am and what some of my life and career goals are. I thought it’d be good as a separate page so new visitors can find it easily and so I can revisit it if I’m ever needing a little kick in the butt. Hehe.

In all of my procrastinating, I finally cleaned up my Google Reader list from all of the missing out I did over Christmas. Now I don’t have 400+ posts glaring at me every time I log in. I feel much better. πŸ˜›

Now it’s Monday and I’m ready for a fresh start, but I’m going to back-track a little bit to Friday evening, since you all have no idea what I was up to this weekend!

Friday afternoon/night

I had the classic Amy’s non-dairy burrito/salsa/SC combination that has been frequenting my blog lately. It’s just so darn convenient to pack when I go to work and I don’t feel like I’m cheating myself out of the good stuff by having to pack a lunch. I also snagged an apple out of the fridge to go along with the burrito.

DSC_2708.JPG

After work I went straight to campus for my first 2.8 mile run. It went so so so well! I included two of the hills that will be in my 5K this weekend in my route and handled them pretty well. I kept the pace I needed and finished it out in 28:10. Yay!

I came home and made a smoothie right away to refuel and let my body recover properly. It had LF Vanilla yogurt, blackberries, blueberries, strawberries, soy protein, and almonds in it. Delicious!

DSC_2716.JPG

Evan and I couldn’t decide on what to do for dinner, so he finished some leftovers while I made myself a Morningstar Tomato Basil Pizza Burger with Newman’s Own Cabernet Marinara and goat cheese on an Arnold’s Thin with a side of Sharp Cheddar cheese slices. I had some green beans on the side.

DSC_2722.JPG

DSC_2717.JPG

I topped off my meal with dessert: a piece of almond milk chocolate from my Christmas stocking and some Annie’s Bunny Grahams.

DSC_2724.JPG

Then Evan and I redbox’d it by renting Vantage Point. I liked it, but very suspenseful! Have you seen this movie?

Saturday

SLEPT IN until 11:30! I live for these days when I can catch up on my sleep. It was so nice! Then Evan made me breakfast of Fiber One pancakes (half topped with syrup, the other half with homemade raspberry preserves) and some eggs. I’m bad about bringing my camera to his house, (as he has graciously pointed out…whoops!) so no pictures.

To be completely honest, Saturday was not a great day for eating. I didn’t have much of an appetite and definitely didn’t give myself a proper dinner. I snacked on some sharp cheddar cheese and crackers, but that was about it. Again, no pictures. I did try Eating Bender’s Coffee Cocoa , though! I added a little peppermint extract to give it a wintery kick (details below).

Sunday

Woke up and had OATMEAL which I haven’t had in ages! I made it with:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup vanilla Almond Breeze
  • sliced almonds
  • ground flax seed
  • cinnamon
  • Silver Palate Spiced Cranberry Apple Chutney (!!!!)

DSC_2740.JPG

The chutney was the star of these oats. They were very apple-y, but not too sweet! I was very satisfied πŸ˜€

I also made a mug of Coffee Cocoa , testing out how much peppermint extract was the perfect amount. No more than 1/4 teaspoon. After that, it becomes too pepperminty and has a yucky alcohol taste to it. Bleck! Eating Bender’s recipe is fantastic, though! You should try it!

DSC_2736.JPG

Mid-day I had a hair cutting adventure! My parents bought Evan a set of hair clippers for Christmas (so I could start cutting it). My mom is a hairdresser and gave me a crash course after Thanksgiving, but I was a little nervous to be doing it all on my own. It took me a long time, but I think it was a success! Yay for free haircuts (Evan is happy :D)!

IMG00179

For dinner I decided to attempt some chicken pot pie. I got my February issue of Real Simple Magazine in the mail the other day and it had a great looking version, but I wasn’t too thrilled about using a store-bought pie crust that the recipe called for topping it with. I remembered seeing a cornmeal topping floating around the foodie network, and finally found it on Running With Food’s blog. My filling was this recipe (Adapted from Real Simple magazine, February 2009):

Chicken Veggie Pot Pie with Cornmeal Crust

  • 1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 onions, chopped
  • 4 carrots, diced
  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine (I used Barefoot Chardonnay)
  • 2 cups 1 percent milk
  • 1/2 small package frozen peas
  • 1/2 small package frozen corn
  • 1 tablespoon fresh thyme (I’d use less next time)
  • Kosher salt and black pepper
  1. Heat oven to 400* F. Cook the chicken in a pot of simmering water until cooked through, 10 to 12 minutes; let cool, then shred.
  2. Meanwhile, heat the oil in a saucepan over medium heat. Add the onions and carrots and cook, stirring, until they begin to soften, 6 to 8 minutes (do not let them darken). Sprinkle the flour over the vegetables and cook, stirring for 1 minute.
  3. Add the wine and cook until evaporated, about 5 minutes. Add the milk and simmer until the sauce thickens, 2 to 3 minutes. Stir in the chicken, peas, carrots, thyme, 3/4 teaspoon salt, 1/4 teaspoon pepper. Transfer to a 2.5 quart baking dish.
  4. Make the batter for cornmeal topping and spread over the top.
  5. Bake for 25 minutes or until top is golden brown.

DSC_2778.JPG

DSC_2791.JPG

Overall, I give this recipe a thumbs up! I didn’t like using so much thyme, it had an overbearing effect on the flavor. I would also prefer a creamier filling, but this is a great option for keeping it healthy πŸ˜€

Fast-forward to TODAY!

Woke up this morning at 8 AM to work on my grad school application (no internship because of MLK Day…YAY!). Yesterday I got to take my weekly trips to Publix and Target to get food. I LOVE having new foods to eat for the week! I stocked up on cereals (Kashi is 2 for $5 at Target!), so I decided to mix two of them together this morning:

PB Puffins and Kashi GoLean Crunch Honey Almond Flax with blackberries and Vanilla Almond Breeze:

DSC_2799.JPG

Oh my goodness. PB Puffins!!! I hadn’t tried the PB kind yet (in fact, it’s been sold out every time I go to Publix and I got the last box last night!) They are so so so amazing! They lived up to everyone’s raving reviews, for sure! The Kashi cereal was also a big winner! Mmmm, yummy breakfast!

I got so caught up in finishing my grad school application that I was nearly late for work! I quickly grabbed an Amy’s Non-Dairy burrito (surprise!) before I ran out the door. I had it plain today, which is just as good!

Mid-Afternoon snack was a Cashew Cookie Larabar (always a winner).

DSC_2710.JPG

After work today, I went on another 2.8 mile run around campus and finished in 28:07! This one had many more hills than my first 2.8 miler did, so I improved my time on a more strenuous route! πŸ˜€ I wanted to ask you guys if you think it’s a good idea to run a race route before the race? I’ve ran parts of it, but not the whole thing because I haven’t gotten up to that distance yet. Wednesday will be my 5K practice run before my race on Saturday and I was seriously considering running the race route. I like to be prepared for things and I think I’d feel more confident if I’d run the whole thing before. Have any of you done this? If so, how did it work out for you?

I haven’t had it yet, but dinner will be left-over pot pie from last night. Yum!

I’m off to watch tonight’s Bachelor (while flipping to J&K + 8 and The City), eat dinner, and shower before hopping it bed early tonight! Have a good one!

